top of page

Lorna meets Lucia Fontaine

Lucia Fontaine has great #stagestyle, with a cool ‘80’s vibe and ice blue tresses, the Glaswegian singer- songwriter and her band perform an impressive set this evening at the Old Fire Station in Bournemouth, supporting the recently re-formed Sleeper.

We love strong and confident #womeninmusic at the ZineUK, so had to catch up with Lucia after the gig to find out more.

Lucia, your voice and your confidence on stage reminded me of Siouxsie Sioux, is she an influence on your work? Can you tell me some of your musical inspirations?

Siouxsie is one of my many female influences, I am really inspired by old punk bands and 60s/70s girl groups like Ronnie Spector, Debbie Harry, Joan Jett, but I am also really inspired by a lot of current artists, some who are friends including Dream Wife, Cherry Glazerr, Our Girl and more.

How long have you been writing songs? Where do you get your ideas? I have been writing songs since I was about 15...I didn't write lots to begin with but I enjoyed it, and whilst growing up I experienced more things so started to write more. My lyrics are always pretty short sweet and simple, I just like to write about things people can relate to and understand, and really connect to the song.

One of your songs is called ‘Melted Ice Cream’, that’s a great title! We released 'Melted Ice Cream' as a single in January, a year or two ago there was a time when it seemed like there were a lot of relationships falling apart around me, not just couples but friendships too, so I wrote Melted Ice Cream based on that. I just like to write about things people can relate to and understand, and really connect to the song.

We also released a 4 track EP last year ('Best Boy' / 'When I Think of You' / 'Lose My Mind' / and 'Saturday Is Dead'. All these tracks are available on Spotify/ iTunes etc..)

Your stage style is fabulous! Do you design your look, where do you get your ideas?

I get a lot of my clothes in vintage shops, and I love certain materials like PVC / mesh, and also suits. As well as my music, my style is also very inspired by older artists such as Bowie and Prince. They always seemed to look amazing and I do take pride in the way I dress and enjoy wearing different things.

You are playing some festivals this Summer, are there any bands on the bill are you looking forward to seeing?

I'm really looking forward to a year of festivals, I haven't had a chance to look at all the line ups, but there are so many I have never been to before and I’m going to make an effort to go see lots of bands play that I haven't seen/ heard of before as I know there is a lot of good new music out there just now.

All photos: Lorna Cort

Check out Lucia Fontaine at the links below:

Never Miss an Article

Join our mailing list

bottom of page