top of page

Monefa Meets... Shirley Manson


It's very true to say that when we think of music throughout the 90s, there is a long list of artists and bands that have left a mark on our ears and souls. One of the bands that have stayed consistent and in fact grown stronger year on year is Garbage. Their songs are always current, always relevant and when you have a front woman like Shirley Manson, it's easy to see why. This formidable woman always has and always will speak her mind and speak from the heart. Later this year in September, the band will be celebrating the 20 year anniversary of their Version 2.0 album at Brixton Academy. Despite their burgeoning schedule, Shirley was very kind enough to give up some of her time and answer a few of my questions!

Did you ever envisage being where you are right now, say when you were in your twenties?

"Never in my wildest dreams and imaginings did I ever think I would enjoy the kind of career I have had. Neither did I imagine, once my career took off in the 90’s would I still be lucky enough to be making music in 2018. I have now been making records for 35 years. That’s just down right crazy."

Did you always know that music would play a big part of your life, in some capacity?

"I was always really musical as a child. I played the piano, violin and clarinet at school, sang with an all girls choir, played in the school orchestra and won several awards as a child for singing songs written by our Scottish National Poet, Robert Burns. We had an old record player that my mum, who was a singer herself , would play records on by incredible singers like Nina Simone and Billy Holliday, Peggy Lee and Sarah Vaughan. It was upon hearing those women sing that I fell in love with music in a passionate way."

"I can remember my little baby heart feeling a gravital pull that I couldn’t make sense of as a child, but I now identify as me recognising that they were speaking in a language I could understand and possibly speak. In that sense then, I suppose music was destined always to play a role of some sort in my life. I just had no idea how big a role it would eventually play."

What do you feel needs to improve in the music industry right now (apart from the shameful act of closing down smaller venues)?

"Well the major problem I have with the music industry right now is it’s complete and utter obsession with profit at a cost to art. It is no longer a “music” industry. It is a “commercial pop” industry in thrall to their share holders and investors. I also have a major problem with the lack of female representation across the board from executivepositions, to producers, to engineers, writers, players and creators. I also take offence at the lack of representation amongst black communities and other people of colour."

Which female musicians do you find inspirational, and who stand out for you?

"Oh my goodness the list is endless! But here are just a few who hold my heart. Nina Simone, Billy Holliday, Diana Ross, Dolly Parton, Kate Bush, Yoko Ono, Siouxsie Sioux, Chrissie Hynde, Debbie Harry, Tori Amos, Hope Sandoval, Courtney Love, Missy Elliot, Fiona Apple, Grimes, Lana del Rey, St Vincent, Nicki Minaj, Azealia Banks, Beyonce and Rihanna."

Do you think music is always a by-product of society; in terms of being a healthy release of emotions about what is going on in or around us?

"For me, music is communication of any kind whether it is joy , heartbreak, sadness, wonder, grief . It’s calling out into the abyss and hoping for an echo back."

Are there any new bands/artists that you're really getting into right now?

In your opinion, what has been the turning point for change around the world the past year?

"The BLACK LIVES MATTER Movement and The #MeToo Movement."

What are the positive and negative changes you've noticed within the music industry?

"I HAVE WITNESSED NO POSITIVE OR NEGATIVE CHANGES within the music industry over the last few years. Sure we all consume music differently than we used to but the business model remains the same. Throw music at the wall until it sticks and then exploit it for all it's worth. Women continue to represent less than 16 percent of musicians in the industry. That needs to change and why it is still the status quo is utterly beyond my understanding at this point. It speaks of a sad and selfish, predominantly old and white patriarchy that doesn’t want to give up or share power."

What's an extremely funny memory that you have whilst being on tour?

"What goes on, on the road, stays on the road!"

Check out the video to latest single'No Horses' below!

Tickets are still available for their anniversary show on September 15th here!

Never Miss an Article

Join our mailing list

bottom of page