top of page

The New Comedian Of The Year arrives

A few months after Tory life incited the 2011 riots I was part of the UpRise Festival in Dalston and stewarding the Comedy stage. I forgot to steward properly because I got so pisspants giggled up at Dane Baptiste that I got my filmer thingy out and made some clips. I haven't stopped following him since. He makes funny real (yeah, I know people with "the chocolate chip") and is, simply, real funny.

A few years later I was lucky enough to catch another show courtesy of Up The Creek a short hop from home. He has also appeared more than once at Happy Mondays Club at Amersham Arms a short walk in the other direction. (Really I would like to see him headline there). Anyway, Up The Creek was a tour preview. With new material and experiences, he had me cackling like a goose on acid. I'd made sure to sit near the back so I didn't make a show of myself. I kept laughing all the way home. An advantage of living in Deptford where people can do that, while walking along, and its normal.

Dane's funny because you know what he's talking about. Narrating some of my Brit life experiences. He's neither devisive, boastful, or offensive - being accessibly funny is a serious business that only one of life's genuine jesters can really carry off confidently. Insightul without being inciteful. I love laughing, a great medicine, and have a wide taste in comedians but Dane is the best new comic talent in the land. Getting noticed and nominated all over the place, even more recently courtesy of his Citizen Dane show.

This year, Dane Baptise arrives with his own sitcom, SunnyD - more at this BBC Next Comedy Pilots article. I hope he brings mirth and joy to anybody that will give him the time of day.

Those UpRise clips (oi, Caf, less snorting, more stewarding!) - UpRise Festival, 'Community Is Home', Sept 25th 2011, Dalston, Arcola Circus Tent

Never Miss an Article

Join our mailing list

bottom of page